House Sitters UK

The largest pet & house sitting site exclusively for the UK
 
 
Close

JOIN NOW to contact

OR LOGIN - CLICK HERE

Join the largest UK focussed House Sitting site

  • Constant supply of new homeowner ads
  • More owners contacting sitters directly
  • Over a decade of experience

Join now to make contact

 
Dates
  • 20 Aug 2024 - 7 Sep 2024
  • 2 weeks 4 nights
What we need
  • Dogs (1), Cats (2), Chickens/Ducks/Geese (5)
  • Average
Sit Features
  • Yes
  • No
  • No

We need a house sitter

South West - Devon

Juliet

Hello, we have a 19 acre small holding, with a lovely garden in a very rural part of the Devon/Somerset border. With a wonderful dog, 2 lazy cats, 4 well trained chickens and a partially feral duck who comes and goes as he pleases, and 5 horses (but we are paying someone to come in and manage the horses' morning routine, you would only need to take fly masks off at dusk).
We really would like to travel so we're looking for the perfect person/people to come and enjoy our home, garden and pets.
It really is a very tranquil place close to national parks (Dartmoor and Exmoor) and the coast - it would only suit those who really feel at home in the beautiful countryside.
The animals do take a bit of looking after but are genuinely lovely to have around and spend time with.
We spend most of our time with the animals, gardening, playing bridge, cycling, chilling here with friends, and walking the South West Coast path. Our son is taking his A' Levels this summer (2024) and hopes to go to university next autumn - he is rather more active than us and takes advantage of both the good outdoor and indoor climbing close to us, mountain biking and some great surfing which is not too far away.
We need someone who would be confident enough with horses JUST to take their fly masks off each evening and possibly moving the electric fence a little (strip grazing). We are hoping to find a professional horse carer to do the full morning routine for them (unless you are happy to do it, they are gorgeous, but quite big).
Our dog, Stanley, is a 6 year old border collie and bursting with energy but is very well behaved. He is used to coming with us when we go hacking and therefore used to loads of exercise. He has very good recall and doesn’t jump up at people. He can easily be walked across open land, once he gets to know someone which he does quickly. He follows us around while we are doing the horses and in the garden, but will need plenty of walking each day. He free-ranges outside, with access to a barn, until around 7pm when he is allowed inside if he wants to come in.
The cats are easy and hang around inside / outside as they like.
The cats and dog are only allowed into the kitchen and sitting room (by invitation) in the evenings for company and some fuss. They are not allowed upstairs.
The chickens and the duck are a push over. They have a shed and a large paddock with electric netting around to keep them safe.
You would have a decent double sized bedroom, bathroom upstairs and a loo downstairs, a 'snug' which has a desk in it with a large screen and keyboard as well as another sofa on which to lounge; a sitting room with the log burner and a piano, kitchen with Aga (although we turn this off in the summer as it costs a bomb to run!), boot room for wet wellies and coats and this is where cats and dog sleep at night.
We have a dedicated workspace with desk, you can hook up to with good Wi-Fi. Broadband is c.19Mbs download and c.6Mbs upload. Mobile connectivity in the house is almost non-existent so you have to use Wi-Fi calling for your phone. Netflix, iPlayer etc work fine on the TV.
We do also have a decent sized garden that would appreciate the lawn being mown once a week and various bits and pieces being watered as necessary. We have a lovely area outside the kitchen in which to sit and soak up the summer sunshine, and at the top of the garden we have a delightful little summerhouse where you can chill out. We also have a portable bar-b-que which you can use outside the summer house or in the 'herb garden' which is outside our front door (no herbs, but stone so you can sit out around the table).
The closest town is 20 minutes away by car but there is a Spar shop about 15 mins away, so you have to plan a little ahead for meals etc.
It is a MUST that you have a car, and one that you can pop Stanley in the back of if you are going for a walk away from our village; he loves country or beach walks, but gets nervous in towns and is a bit nervous of other dogs, so best to keep him away from other dogs.
There is a very traditional English country pub up the road (1/4 mile) which provides a great place to drink or have a meal.
Exmoor National Park is 40 minutes away. Both the north and east coasts of Devon are only 45 minutes away, there are several National Trust properties close by. Exeter is a beautiful city just 45 mins away, so lots to do if you feel like it (and don't leave Stanley the dog for too long).
The main 'pulls' of our place is the peace, tranquillity, the beautiful garden, the lovely animals, the wild life, birds, bird song and the sound of the wind in the trees or the little stream running though the garden.

House & Location
  • Farm House
  • Internet, Wifi, Netflix, BBQ, Heater, Dishwasher
  • Login to View
  • Country (Nature, Quiet, Conservative)
  • Supermarket, Pubs/Bars, Cinema
 
Live Rent Free

Zero rent

Our members are currently saving thousands every year. It's happening right now. Join in and start saving.

Feefo badge