House Sitters UK

The largest pet & house sitting site exclusively for the UK
 
 
Close

Make contact - Join for free

OR LOGIN - CLICK HERE

 
Gold (24mths)
House Sitting Preferences
  • 0 - 1 week, 1 - 2 weeks
  • Dog(s), Fish, Bird(s), Rabbit(s)/Guinea Pig(s), Chickens/Ducks/Geese
  • Yes
Preferred Locations
  • Anywhere in the United Kingdom
Availability
  • NEXT 6 MONTHS    
    Available    
    Unavailable
    Jun
    Jul
    Aug
    Sep
    Oct
    Nov
  • 2024: 12-15 Jul | 25-31 Jul | 31 Oct - 10 Dec | 19 Dec - 6 Jan 2025

Stef

66, Retired

I have recently retired as a professional in health care
I love dogs but cannot have my own as I travel too much. It is therefore nice to look after others and I did a fair few sits (through another site) before covid struck. Most were excellent and I was generally treated well by the families I sat for,

I sit to enjoy a dogs company and to visit an area. I try and keep the dogs routine, . I usually go out to visit in the afternoons, an may take the dog with me if I can and if they are ok travelling in the car.. in that way both I and the dog get a holiday and life is fun for them! Obviously I can't leave them in the car in the summer,

Many dogs like some time alone, and I try and keep them used to my going out so they don’t get separation anxiety!
I really enjoy continuing training, but I cannot achieve much in a few days.

I am a non smoker and am allergic to cats and feathers, but otherwise am delighted to sit / care for and walk well behaved dogs and other animals in smoke free homes. It is fair to say I'm no housekeeper, and my garden at home is great fun though I'm no gardening genius either... but I look after happy dogs.

I ask that owners provide details of any animals health, or behaviour issues and their exercise routine and needs, and for a welcome pack in the home including vet details , feeding requirements, stop cocks etc, I also need a little freezer and some fridge space, somewhere to work at a table and a set of spare keys for the dirty dog entry door! Otherwise I arrive with pretty much everything I need including my own bedding and just use your kitchen herbs / spices / oil etc

I can confirm that I have a car am DRB checked and am double jabbed plus booster.s


How many sits. ? I have sat for German Shepherds to King Charles Spaniels, old and young. On average about one sit a month, from a day (very local) to several weeks.It is always nice to return to the same dog again but I enjoy travelling to new places.
I aim at one weekend / up to 2 week sit a month in winter but looking to do a longer sit in the winter when my garden doesn't need me.

The business:
No money actually changes hands for the sit for one straightforward dog and an hours walking. I charge £10 a dog a day for two feeds an hours walking and plenty of cuddles . I say I contribute £10 back to you for use of heat etc hence usually no money changes hands. For pets that a have complex or time consuming needs, I obviously charge a little.
I have a block of time free each day, typically the afternoon, and may not be able to take the dog with me. (Though I usually do if they are ok travelling in the car with a different walk at the end)

I also ask for a contribution to my travel costs, especially as I try to take dogs out for walks in different places, However I try and visit other places en route to you so save mileage. This is a better fit for me than you leaving me a fridge full of food and treats as I am often offered! I hope it is actually easier for you too.

Once I know what is needed, we can usually reach an agreement easily.

Reviews (5)
This was the first time we have ever had a house sitter and we were not disappointed - Stephanie was a fabulous house sitter. She asked lots of sensible questions before arrival to make sure she new exactly what she was coming to. She took such good care of Leia, we couldn't have asked for more! Leia is a young energetic dog and she got plenty of exercise and stimulation while we were away. Stephanie looked after the house really well and even had a delicious stew waiting for us when we ... MORE
 
SUSAN (Shetland Scotland, Oct 2022 - 1 week 5 days)
Thank you, and it was a real pleasure. The only problem is how much I am missing Leia and Shetland!
Stephanie was amazing. She wanted to know everything about Bucca......and the house, which was so reassuring. Bucca loved her. What more can you ask for.
 
MAGGIE (Hitchin England, Apr 2024 - 3 nights)
Stephanie made me feel at ease from the first contact we had over the phone, and I appreciated that she was happy to stay for an additional two days as my travel plans changed. When we met the evening before Stephanie was greeted with great enthusiasm by Jonas and I had total confidence that Stephanie will be perfect to look after him as she made friends with him instantly. We had some time the next morning for a short introduction to the village and countryside. While I was away Stephanie ... MORE
 
DAGMAR (Tewin England, Dec 2023 - 1 week)
It really was a very great pleasure : any time! And thank you for your very generous hospitality
I would not hesitate for one moment to recommend Stephanie as a very competent, no nonsense but fun, house sitter. She was calm with the dogs on arrival and took notes on their individual care and needs and we felt very comfortable about leaving them in her very capable hands. I will mention that we left Stephanie with an electrics issue and a wayward electrician whose approach to time was somewhat loose, there were area black outs and torrential rain but Stephanie coped with them all with her ... MORE
 
JILL (Ludlow England, Jan 2023 - 1 week)
Stephanie is the first house sitter we've ever had and she definitely made the whole process very easy. Communication was excellent and Stephanie helped make sure she had all the information she needed. Stephanie kindly offered to come the night before. Stephanie arrived in good time and very quickly picked up the queues we use for Lily who absolutely loves people and gets very excited, she quickly followed Stephanies lead. I instantly liked Stephanie who has a very capable friendly demeanour ... MORE
 
ZOE (Caunton notts England, Jun 2022 - 1 week)
Thank you! It was a real pleasure, and you made me feel very well looked after. Lilly was fabulous! Stephanie
 
Free Pet Care

Happy pets!

A house sitter provides loving, full-time, home-based pet-care while you're away.

Feefo badge