House Sitters UK

The largest pet & house sitting site exclusively for the UK
 
 
Close

Make contact - Join for free

OR LOGIN - CLICK HERE

Platinum (36mths+)
House Sitting Preferences
  • 0 - 1 week, 1 - 2 weeks, 2 - 4 weeks, 1 - 2 months, 2 months +
  • Dog(s), Cat(s), Fish, Bird(s), Reptile(s), Horse(s)

Josie the housesitter

65, Retired Organisational Psychologist

Hi, my name is Josie and I am a very experienced house sitter having sat more than 40 houses over the last 13 years.

I am Scottish but have lived in Australia for over 25 years. Being a fit and healthy 65 year old who has recently retired with a longing to travel I have spent much of the last few years in Scotland house sitting. Wonderful - even if it does rain much of the time!

I am very good with animals and volunteer at a wildlife rescue organization. I have mainly looked after dogs and cats but also llamas, ducks, hens, sheep, fish, horses, birds.... the list goes on. I like looking after dogs as it means lots of walks and walking without a dog (or two) is just not the same. There were such great walks in Scotland and having dogs has helped me experience them. I have also enjoyed being in the cities where I have mainly cared for cats - up to four at a time. As you can tell I have had dogs and cats at home most of my life

I love house / pet sitting and most people do ask me back again and recommend me to their friends. It continues to be a wonderful experience and I always look forward to staying in new locations. I love to travel but I don't like being a tourist. I would rather get to know one place well than visit ten briefly. I also like the opportunity to still have contact with animals while I am away.

My background is as an Organizational Psychologist consultant and I ran my own business for 25 years which means that I am very responsible and trustworthy because if I was not my clients would have gone elsewhere!

I have owned my own house for 30 years and lived alone in the latter years. I know how important looking after a home is and have experience in doing so. After I semi-retired I moved from a city house to an 8 acre property in the country with water tanks and pumps which I maintain and keep as fire proof as possible.

I bring a wide range of experiences, from the couple whom I house sit for regularly in Australia who have five retrievers (which I walk twice a day) and three cats, to the large properties with llamas and sheep, to city houses which need to be kept immaculate and free from animal hair.

I always speak to the owners first to ensure I understand their needs and take lots of notes so I don't forget anything. I leave the house clean and refreshed ready for your return.

I can provide references, have police clearance and am very flexible with dates. We can talk on Skype or phone so you can ask any questions you have and I can ensure I understand your needs.

I look forward to hearing from you.
Regards
Josie






Reviews (2)
Josie was a wonderful housesitter, my two dogs, the ducks and hens were really well cared for and very relaxed and happy when I got back. Josie kept in touch when I was away and took great care of the place. Errol and Evie can't wait to see her again!
 
GUY (Isle Of North Uist Scotland, Nov 2023 - 1 week)
No rating Josie was fabulous, she looked after our house, polytunnel, cats and hens to perfection, even having to deal with the broody hen. We had a lovely holiday made even better knowing the house and animals were being looked after by Josie. Came home to a spotless home, flowers and wine. Thank you so much Josie.
LESLEY LYNN (Inverness Scotland, Jun 2017 - 2 weeks)
 
House Security

Safe house!

There is nothing more secure than having people at home while you're away. Get a house sitter.

Feefo badge