House Sitters UK

The largest pet & house sitting site exclusively for the UK
 
 
Close

Make contact - Join for free

OR LOGIN - CLICK HERE

 
House Sitting Preferences
  • 1 - 2 weeks, 2 - 4 weeks, 1 - 2 months
  • Dog(s), Cat(s)
Preferred Locations
  • Anywhere in the United Kingdom
Availability
  • NEXT 6 MONTHS    
    Available    
    Unavailable
    Apr
    May
    Jun
    Jul
    Aug
    Sep
  • 2024: 31Mar-20Apr 2024: 21Apr-1Oct
  • On a house-sit right now

I'm here to help.

Retired teacher, faux finish artisan, chocolatier, private pilot; currently a traveling housesitter

Hello. Thank you for reading my profile. I'm Barbara, a retired Special Education teacher from America. I recently sold my house in South Dakota, U.S and downsized to a more portable me so I could travel and hopefully find some place on the planet to settle down for a while. I have spent quite a lot of time in UK and have a lovely group of friends here, so this will be my first stop on my new life adventure. I am a non-smoker.

Housesitting feels like a good match to my travel dreams of seeing new places, meeting new people and helping my pension stretch a bit further! I like to be helpful so that fits into that lifestyle too. I am open to house sits with or without pets.

I have almost always had pets as a part of my life. After my sweet Irish Setter passed away at age 14, I decided I wanted to travel more, so I haven't had a pet for a while…but I am an "auntie" to quite a few! I have some experience with training and lots experience of walking and cuddling with dogs and cats.

I like to walk and hike and have spent many days out with my friends and their dogs. In fact, one friend says her dog started jumping around in the car when they turned onto my street…he knew that going to see me meant we were going out for a good walk! That felt great!
Another of my housesits' clients say that their pets still react enthusiastically when they hear my name spoken! So funny and touching too.

I practice yoga and meditation most days and have noticed that dogs and cats often seem to connect with time on the mat…especially cats!

I love gardening, so I am happy to take care of plants as well. (Coming from a place with a 3 month growing season, it is actually a treat to be able to garden all year…even if a lot of it is dead-heading!) You can see a picture of my gorgeous garden in my photos. I really appreciate being out in nature and feel grateful for the beauty I have seen in my travels and at home.

As a homeowner, I became quite handy at household maintenance. Before selling up, I had completely remodeled much of my home, (with pro help but a good deal of it with my own two hands!) I also had my own faux finishing business and loved making my home and others' more beautiful. Additionally, as a special education teacher, I learned to stay calm. When I became a private pilot, I learned to stay calm but react quickly if necessary. Both skills seem to have transferred to dealing with house crises as well. (Thank goodness!)

While you are away I am happy to keep in touch with you by WhatsApp etc photos/videos to reassure you that all is well. I know that pet owners often take comfort from this kind of contact.

I consider myself a trustworthy, capable, dependable, responsible and caring person; and so I feel your home would be in good hands with me. I have references from previous house sits which I can make available upon your request. I also have a clear FBI Identity History (fingerprints checked, etc).

FYI: if you use the phone number shown on my profile, you will have to use WhatsApp. If you need help to do so, and you feel comfortable with providing me with your phone number, I can send you a link to WhatsApp.
My WhatsApp is +1605 591 9486.

I hope you will get in touch with me if you need a housesitter. I look forward to the possibility of meeting you and providing your home and pets with excellent care.
Kind Regards,
Barbara

Reviews (4)
Barbara is an absolute dream of a house & pet sitter! She was great at communicating before the sit, asked questions if anything wasn't clear and sent updates while I was away. It never felt like there was a stranger in my house, only a friend! We were able to meet up beforehand and felt like I'd known her for years - this gave me huge peace of mind while I was away. The true test of course is whether your pet is happy, and Barbara got the rare seal of approval when my cat slept on her lap on ... MORE
 
LIZ (Bath England, Mar 2024 - 1 week)
We would like to take this opportunity to thank Barbara for the amazing care for our pets while away. Her experience together with her personality and kindness we knew we left our pets in wonderful hands .. we feel very lucky to have met this wonderful lady and we hope you had a lovely stay in abergavenny . Thank you so so much
 
CLAIRE (Abergavenny Wales, Jan 2024 - 2 weeks 3 nights)
I highly recommend Barbara. She was fantastic with all aspects of care for my dog and cat. They were both loved, brushed walked and fed really well. Barbara even made extra veggie broth and veggie snacks for my dog who found these delicious! My home was kept in great condition, and it was wonderful to return to a clean and tidy home. Barbara kept in touch with me most days with very well written humerous stories as well as pictures of my happy furries. I thank you Barbara for allowing us ... MORE
 
LUCINDA (Loxwood England, Dec 2023 - 3 weeks)
Barbara came to look after Chester recently and he sat at the door for a good few hours after she left waiting hopefully for her to return! The house was in good condition and Chester has been very spoilt and loved! She had great knowledge of red setters so we knew he would be very well understood! We look forward to seeing her again one day.
 
JODIE (Blackawton England, Nov 2023 - 1 week 5 nights)
 
Garden Maintenance

Green garden!

Make sure the garden and pot plants are thriving when you get back - get a house sitter.

Feefo badge