House Sitters UK

The largest pet & house sitting site exclusively for the UK

Make contact - Join for free


Platinum (36mths+)
House Sitting Preferences
  • 0 - 1 week, 1 - 2 weeks, 2 - 4 weeks, 1 - 2 months, 2 months +
  • Dog(s), Cat(s), Fish, Bird(s)
Preferred Locations
  • Anywhere in the United Kingdom
  • NEXT 6 MONTHS    
  • 2024: 9Feb-18Feb | 3Mar-17Mar | 21Jun-28Jun | 27Jul-18Aug | 23Aug-30Aug | 13Sep-15Sep | 25Sep-6Oct | 17Nov-1Dec

Ian and Isobelle, caring house sitters

64, retired

63, retired

Active retired couple looking for new adventures

Ian and Isobelle Haynes.

We are experienced, discreet and caring house sitters, fit and active, (both mid 60's), non-smokers, dependable and take the responsibility of looking after your house and pets very seriously. As we've no ongoing commitments, we're flexible in both where and when we travel and are happy to take on short notice assignments.

I retired in March 2015 after working at BT for 37 years, ending my career within the BT Academy (in BT Group HR), managing a team of people who scheduled and delivered technical and management training, both in the UK and overseas.

My wife has been a homemaker, doing a fantastic job, originally looking after our twin sons, and lately grandchildren. We also acted as joint secretaries of the residents Management Company (within the courtyard where we lived), arranging general maintenance and repairs, gardening contractors, insurance and accounts.

In the next stage of our lives we want new and interesting experiences, plus with the constraints of work lifted, we want to see and do as much as we can.

We love looking after pets, we love travelling to new and interesting places and we love meeting new people. House sitting has given us this, and even though it would be classed as a hobby, we're very focused on being professional in managing your requirements.

We always aim to respond quickly to any questions, provide regular updates (and photos) on the house sit and when necessary, keep you up to date with any developments and manage any issues that may occur.

From July 2015 our house sitting experience has taken across the UK, (plus into Portugal, Italy and France), looking after pets that range from working dogs needing continual exercise and stimulation, to cats and dogs that are happy to sit on your lap or the sofa all day. We've also looked after chickens, ducks and tortoises.

Properties we've looked after have ranged from city centre apartments to country houses with extensive grounds. To date we have scheduled over 60 house sits, many of these have resulted in repeat visits, (some visited over a dozen times) where we've built a trusting relationship with the homeowner, helping them to enjoy their time away knowing that they are leaving everything in safe hands.

Reviews (10)
Ian and Isobelle were our first House Sitters, and they were fabulous. They took the best care of our beloved pooch, Alfie, took him on lots of outings, and sent lots of pictures on him on their adventures out. Ian and Isobelle cared for our house as if it were their own - in fact, I think our house was even tidier and cleaner when we returned than it was when we left !! A very successful house sit, and I'd be 100% recommend Ian and Isobelle to anyone seeking a professional and caring couple ... MORE
JUDE (Richmond England, Oct 2023 - 2 weeks)
This is the first time and were originally very worried about having people we have never met not only look after our house but more importantly look after our young dog. After hours of research we came across Ian and Isobelle and contact between us was excellent. We arranged a call and had a long chat about what we both wanted out of this. Ian and Isobelle turned up on time, lovely genuine couple who instantly put us at ease. During our time away we had frequent updates and pictures of our ... MORE
MARTIN (Lustleigh , Nov 2021 - 5 nights)
We feel very lucky to have found Ian & Isobelle. From the moment we met them we knew that our house (and chickens !) would be in extremely safe, capable and reliable hands. As a result we were able to enjoy our holiday knowing that we didn't have anything to worry about at home - we also came back to a beautifully clean and tidy house (and fresh milk and bread etc) which was lovely. Ian & Isobelle are also very nice people and easy to communicate & get on with. We would have absolutely no ... MORE
VICTORIA (Mayfield , Sep 2021 - 2 Weeks)
Ian and Isobel are experienced house sitters and are both friendly and professional. Before the sit, the communication with them was excellent. When they arrived they took time with us to understand the house and our routines. Mitch, our dog, seemed comfortable with them from the beginning. Whilst we were away we had regular updates and photos which put out mind at ease. Particularly as we recently lost our other dog so this was the first time Mitch has been left 'on his own''. On our ... MORE
JAYNE (Ash Vale England, Jun 2021 - 1 week)
Ian and Isobelle were brilliant housesitters. They were friendly and reliable. Their communication was excellent and they kept in touch while we were away and even posted pictures of our cat looking very content lying on Ian's knees! They left the house extremely clean and tidy with some thoughtful touches like stripping their bed and leaving milk and bread etc for us upon our return. I would have absolutely no hesitation in recommending them as housesitters to any interested parties.
SARAH (Clarence Square England, Sep 2019 - 7 days)
Thank you, it was a pleasure to look after Philip.
Ian and Isobel were nothing short of amazing. Kind and respectful of us and totally devoted to our demanding puppy, letting him sleep in the same room and lots of outings and adventures. He probably didn't want us back! My daughter said on her return, 'I've never seen the house this clean'. Recommend without any reservations.
AMANDA (London England, Jul 2019 - A week)
No rating Ian and Isobelle have just completed our house sit with house and our three active springer spaniels. We were going away for three weeks so there was a lot of looking after needed. Very sensibly they both came for lunch a few weeks before we left which gave us all a chance to get to know one another first and to go through all the information about the house and dogs at leisure. Quite simply we could not have asked for a nicer and more competent couple to look after things. Our dogs are ... MORE
CHRIS AND JEAN (Northampton, Aug 2017)
No rating From the first email communication with Ian & Isobelle it was clear that they were experienced house sitters. They immediately put our minds at rest that we had made the right choice (this was our first experience of house sitting). The house sit was for 2 weeks, while we were overseas getting married. While we had a huge amount to organise in the run up to leaving, the house sit was handled with ease. We had 2 skype calls to firm up arrangements, and Ian & Isobelle already had a full ... MORE
JESSIE (Dorking England, Jul 2017 - 1 week 4 days)
No rating Ian and Isabelle came to look after our cockapoo, Cookie and our house for 2 weeks in October 2017. (I can't seem to change the automatic description in the box above which refers to February.) They were fantastic! They took such good care of Cookie and treated her as if she was their own.They took her for walks in all sorts of exciting and varied places. We loved receiving the photos and updates of her and we could see that she was having a lovely time. The house was immaculate when we got ... MORE
FLEUR (Walton-on-Thames England, Feb 2017 - 1 week 3 days)
No rating Ian and Isobelle have just completed a 10 day house sit looking after our 16 year old cat. They are a great couple. Always replied quickly to any correspondence before the sit and kept in touch while we were away. Our house was left in an immaculate condition (Cleaner than it was when they arrived! - thank you) Breezer was able to keep to her routine and allowed to sleep on their bed. She was happy and relaxed on our return. I would highly recommend Ian and Isobelle for any house sit and ... MORE
LIBBY (Pollokshields, Scotland, Nov 2015 - 1 week 3 days)
Garden Maintenance

Green garden!

Make sure the garden and pot plants are thriving when you get back - get a house sitter.

Feefo badge