House Sitters UK

The largest pet & house sitting site exclusively for the UK
 
 
Close

Make contact - Join for free

OR LOGIN - CLICK HERE

Platinum (36mths+)
House Sitting Preferences
  • 0 - 1 week, 1 - 2 weeks, 2 - 4 weeks
  • Dog(s), Cat(s), None
Preferred Locations
  • Anywhere in the United Kingdom
Availability
  • NEXT 6 MONTHS    
    Available    
    Unavailable
    Apr
    May
    Jun
    Jul
    Aug
    Sep
  • 2024: 8Mar-8Jun | 16Jun-31Jul | 26Aug-30Sep
  • On a house-sit right now

FionaB

Writer/English language teacher

I am an experienced and adventurous woman, born and raised in London, with family in the U.S. and beyond. Throughout my life, I have embarked on numerous journeys, both for work and personal enrichment, immersing myself in diverse cultures and communities around the globe.

Coming from a family that cherishes animals, I discovered a passion for caring for others' beloved pets when I left London to explore the world in 2005. Upon returning to Cambridge in 2007, I had the privilege of working for the directors of the University of Cambridge, a Member of Parliament, and managing events for a stately home.

The global economic downturn in 2008 prompted me to reevaluate my path, leading me back to education. In this pursuit, I successfully completed a BA (Hons) in Writing at Anglia Ruskin University, Cambridge. Fuelling my thirst for knowledge and adventure, I embarked on further international travel and engaged in fulfilling housesitting opportunities until 2016. It was during this time that I relocated to Vancouver to undertake an MFA in Creative Writing, expanding my skills and honing my passion.

Returning to the UK in 2018, I embarked on a new chapter of exploration, venturing into regions within the UK previously unknown to me. The experience was incredibly rewarding, not only for the breathtaking landscapes but also for the friendships forged along the way.

Throughout my journey, I have house and pet sit in various locations, including Mexico, Los Angeles, Vancouver, Costa Rica, the Canary Islands, and numerous places across the UK. Each opportunity has provided me with invaluable experience, allowing me to adapt to different environments, follow specific instructions, and ensure the well-being of both homes and beloved pets.

If you would like to further assess my capabilities, I am more than happy to share further excellent references with you via email. These references serve as a testament to my reliability, trustworthiness, and commitment to delivering exceptional care while house sitting.

Note: I hold a UK driving license for automatic gears and I follow a gluten, dairy and meat-free diet, as much as possible.

Reviews (3)
I would highly recommend Fiona for any pet or house sitting opportunity. I have an elderly cat that Fiona has diligently taken care of for me and has kept me constantly updated with any changes. That was really important to me as my cat was sick for extended periods which meant Fiona had to provide around the clock care and medication daily. My cat adored Fiona right from the start as she bought such calm energy and was a real pleasure to be around. Very friendly and professional at all ... MORE
 
JACKIE (Broadway England, Mar 2019 - 3 months 2 weeks)
Fiona took good care of my house, 2 dogs, 1 cat and 2 chickens, while I was away for about a week. This was my first house sitter experience, and it was great. The house was clean and tidy, and the animals were very happy and relaxed, and obviously everyone had enjoyed the experience. Fiona is very capable and self-sufficient, and very kindly prepared dinner for me on my return home, how wonderful! I would highly recommend Fiona to anyone, and hope that she can come and sit for me again.
 
JANE (Cambridge England, Feb 2024 - 6 nights)
Fiona stayed rent & bills free for 3 months in return for looking after our two cats. The cats were well looked after but Fiona let them out during hours of darkness and without their trackers, contrary to our verbal and written requests. When there was an unexpected power cut Fiona called an emergency electrician without checking the main fuse box or reading our instructions. We were left to pay the bill. Fiona initially claimed she had not been given written instructions, then said she ... MORE
 
SANDRA (Stirling Scotland, Nov 2023 - 3 months 1 week)
After a 9-hour trip to Stirling, you gave me a tiny curry & no breakfast. The £85 insurance I paid on one of your 2 identical cars was for vet visits. Not that I had time to use it, due to nine rats, a broken fence, leaky pond, 33 house plants, cat & bird care & covering Judith's role teaching ... MORE
 
Free Pet Care

Happy pets!

A house sitter provides loving, full-time, home-based pet-care while you're away.

Feefo badge