House Sitters UK

The largest pet & house sitting site exclusively for the UK
 
 
Close

Make contact - Join for free

OR LOGIN - CLICK HERE

 
Silver (12mths)
House Sitting Preferences
  • Dog(s), Cat(s), Fish, Bird(s), Rabbit(s)/Guinea Pig(s), Chickens/Ducks/Geese, Reptile(s), Farm Animals, Horse(s)
Preferred Locations
  • England: South East (Isle of Wight), South West (Cornwall, Devon, Dorset, Somerset, Wiltshire), Yorkshire and the Humber   Scotland: ALL   Wales: ALL  
Availability
  • NEXT 6 MONTHS    
    Available    
    Unavailable
    Feb
    Mar
    Apr
    May
    Jun
    Jul
  • 2024: 25Feb-3May

Experienced Housesitter & SPCA Volunteer/Employee

55, English Teacher

I'm originally from Dorset and have recently returned to Blighty from New Zealand where I had been living and working for several years and I'm currently residing in Hampshire. I am an experienced House Sitter and have been house sitting with the associated site 'Kiwi House Sitters' on and off since March 2014. I have had various wonderful short and long-term house-sitting experiences in New Zealand and the UK in both rural and suburban areas ranging from a few days to 6 months in duration caring for an assortment of dogs, cats, rabbits, hamsters, caged birds, alpacas, sheep, fish, turtles, chickens and goats! I have references available if requested and a DBS check.

I have previously volunteered and worked at two SPCA centres in New Zealand where I assisted with the cats and dogs which I really enjoyed. I was employed as an Animal Attendant and worked with up to 10 dogs in the special Isolation Unit including administering medications. I also fostered a 15 year old Bichon Frise from the SPCA for several weeks who was deaf, blind and incontinent bless her. In 2019 I volunteered at a cat rescue sanctuary in Bali.

During my housesits, I like to spend as much time as possible with your pets and I take care of them as if they were my own. Any lucky woofers usually end up having a bit of a 'doggy holiday' with me as I enjoy exploring the local area for walks. And if they are OK to go in the car then I am happy to take them with me for further walking adventures! I like to keep my housesit owners informed and updated with the progress of your home and pets whilst I am housesitting.
I also enjoy gardening and I am happy to look after any plants, veggie patches, mow lawns and undertake any simple garden duties!

In the past I have used kiwihousesitters to find a housesitter myself for a 3 month cat/housesit which helped me to understand the housesitting process from the owner's perspective and how important it is to find the right housesitter for our precious furbabies!

I enjoy living amongst other cultures, meeting people, exploring new areas and having new experiences. I have traveled and lived in quite a few different countries over the years and I worked as an English Teacher in S.E. Asia for several years.

I enjoy walking and being in nature. I am a non-smoker and vegan/vegetarian who enjoys a simple and peaceful life and I always like to keep my house sits clean and tidy especially for the owners' return. I often go for long walks in nature, so if there are any woofers out there who need walking - I'd be more than happy to have their company!

I am currently mostly seeking housesits which are located in more rural/Village locations and preferably not in cities or towns. I'm often available for local weekend housesits as long as it's not too far for me to travel to from Hampshire. I work part-time during the week so I may not always be available even though my availability calendar says I'm available, but please do contact me as I may be able get the time off!

Thank you for taking the time ro read my profiile! I look forward to hearing from you! :)

Reviews (15)
Debbie has been a 5 star Housesitter from start to finish. She kept regular contact with us from the time of booking until completion of the housesit. She was not phased by a long drive to care for our house & dogs over Christmas and New Year. The dogs loved her and were very relaxed. She really is a ‘dog whisperer’ calming our dog who is wary of newcomers. The house was immaculate. Sadly the very wet weather meant she could not get the most out of the lovely location. We cannot recommend ... MORE
 
LIBBY (Pwllheli Wales, Dec 2023 - 1 week 4 nights)
Debbie is lovely, I had two very happy cats and clean house when I came back. She even cleaned the bed sheets when one of the cats was ill on it! I will happily have Debbie sit again 😊
 
STEPH (Salisbury England, Nov 2023 - 2 nights)
Debbie was a dreamboat of a sitter. Pleasant, forthcoming and capable, she looked after our house and hairy boys fabulously. Our nervous Romanian rescue and standoffish cat took to her immediately and she kept us up to date while we were away with daily updates and photos. We came back to a spotless house and relaxed animals. Debbie is just brilliant. I'd recommend her to anyone looking for a caring, thoughtful sitter in an instant.
 
SUSIE (Martham England, Sep 2023 - 1 week)
We could not have asked for a better sitter than Debbie, she was fantastic. Really good communication before the sit and looked after the dogs and our house so well. Prince and Disney looked disappointed when we arrived home! Debbie gave them a wonderful weekend with lots of lovely walks in new places. Both dogs are exhausted now. Debbie gave us regular updates on them and what they’d been up to together. When we got home the house was spotless. We couldn’t recommend Debbie highly enough.
 
ARTHUR (Plymouth England, Sep 2023 - 2 nights)
Debbie was super . She was very caring with the pets - a dog and a cat . She was very keen to let us know how it was at home while we were away . She texted and sent photos of the happy animals frequently! We were very impressed and gratified by her enthusiasm for our area and surroundings . She really made the most of her stay both for the pets and for herself . It is always good for us to know that our way of life is appreciated and enjoyed. X
 
BARBARA (Ullapool Scotland, Apr 2023 - 10 days)
I would like to thank Debbie for her care of our two year old golden retriever. And our house. Poppy was very settled when we returned. The house was very clean, plants looking good and Debbie was considerate in her communication and the ways she looked after Poppy. Highly recommended.
 
JOHN (Brixham England, May 2022 - 1 week 1 day)
Debbie is a lovely lady who I felt warm to as soon as I met her. She immediately had our cat and dog respond to her positively which is always a good first sign. She communicated well with me and I came home to a spotless house with the sheets washed and dried which I didn't expect. I would have no hesitation in trusting her with my pets and home again, in fact I wish she could do it every time we go away. Thank you so much Debbie, you are always welcome to pop in for a cuppa. Good luck with ... MORE
 
TERESA (Blenheim South Island, Oct 2019 - 4 days) From Kiwi House Sitters
Debbie was a fantastic house sitter. I was very nervous about using a sitter for the first time, but would happily use one again after this experience. My energetic labrador was well cared for, Debbie sent occasional messages to let me know how he was getting on. The house was spotless when I returned. Thanks Debbie!
 
REBECCA (Blenheim South Island, Oct 2019 - 3 days) From Kiwi House Sitters
Debbie is an awesome doggie/house sitter! The dogs loved her, she even had my chihuahua letting her pick him up for cuddles which is a first outside of the family. Debbie gave the dogs lots of attention and walks and kept them safe. Also sending me text updates of how they were going. House was lovely and clean to come home to as well! Would happily have Debbie to sit again!
 
CRAIG AND MELANIE (Blenheim , May 2019 - 5 days) From Kiwi House Sitters
Debbie came at short notice and took wonderful care of my home and pets. highly recommended
 
SUE (Renwick South Island, Feb 2018 - 2 weeks) From Kiwi House Sitters
No rating Debbie has been a lifesaver for me. I had a friend from USA visit me for 5 weeks and needed a reliable carer for my dog, 3 cats, 3 chickens, 5 canaries and goat, while I travelled NZ. Debbie housesat 3 times for a total of 24 days. Debbie was wonderful and I never spent a moment worrying about my pets. Thoroughly recommend her to keep both house and animals safe.
LESLEY (Havelock South Island, Jan 2018 - See below ) From Kiwi House Sitters
No rating Debbie was just fantastic, our house was left perfectly tidy & our dog was very happy. She walked our dog, Skidder, every day, even taking him out to the beach. She kept in touch through the 2 weeks, even sending pics of our dog at the beach. Highly recommended, we would have her back any time!
LEIGHTON (Blenheim South Island, Jan 2018 - 1 week 5 days) From Kiwi House Sitters
No rating Debbie is a lovely lady & was a fantastic house sitter. Debbie kept me updated as to how the animals were while we were away & left the house clean & tidy. And most importantly for me, my 13yr old staffy & my sons cat were well looked after. I highly recommend Debbie to house sit. You would be leaving your property & animals in good hands. Thank you Debbie for taking care of everything & making us feel at ease with your updates. With Rudi getting so old & having had her by my side ... MORE
KALITA (Blenheim Central South Island, Dec 2017 - 1 week) From Kiwi House Sitters
No rating Debbie is an awesome housesitter and I would highly recommend her. She is neat and tidy, pays attention to details and is very easy to work with. My cats really resonated with her and I felt confident that I was leaving my home in good hands. I look forward to having her housesit for us again in the future.
KATHY (Riverlands South Island, Dec 2017 - 5 days) From Kiwi House Sitters
No rating We would not hesitate to highly recommended Debbie. She is a super professional house sitter. Our dog was very happy and well look after by Debbie. In addition, The house was well looked after and on our return was cleaner, tidier than when we left .A big thank you to Debbie for let us have a peace of mind while we are on holidays. Is our honoured to have Debbie as our house sitter. :)
P.C (Picton South Island, Nov 2017 - 2 weeks 4 days) From Kiwi House Sitters
 
Garden Maintenance

Green garden!

Make sure the garden and pot plants are thriving when you get back - get a house sitter.

Feefo badge