House Sitters UK

The largest pet & house sitting site exclusively for the UK
 
 
Close

Make contact - Join for free

OR LOGIN - CLICK HERE

 
Silver (12mths)
House Sitting Preferences
  • 0 - 1 week, 1 - 2 weeks, 2 - 4 weeks, 1 - 2 months
  • Dog(s), Cat(s), Fish, Bird(s), Rabbit(s)/Guinea Pig(s), Chickens/Ducks/Geese, Reptile(s), Farm Animals, Horse(s)
  • I've done 3 previous farm sits where I was responsible for cows, sheep, horses, chickens, ducks, pigs, guinea pigs and goats. I have around 5 years of riding experience so am very comfortable around horses. I also worked on a sheep farm for 3 weeks so have done dosing, herding, feeding...

Preferred Locations
  • Scotland: South Western Scotland - City of Glasgow

Cool, calm, and collected animal lover

23, Hostel Assistant & Waitress

Hi! I'm Ellie, a 23-year-old English hostel worker and waitress who absolutely loves animals (big and small!) and has plenty of experience and reviews. Ideally, I'd like to pet-sit in Glasgow as that's where I'd like to establish myself afterwards. Having a temporary place to stay will give me a chance to look for a job and do some viewings for a more permanent place to live!

I've been an avid petsitter for the past 3 years. I've done dog walking and cat/dog/farm sitting around Scotland, England, Ireland, and in The Netherlands where I studied. I've stayed at people's houses for a number of days to a few weeks taking care of their dogs, cats, horses, chickens, pigs, sheep, you name it!

Dogs: I have experience with rescue dogs, dogs with separation anxiety, dogs that pull on the lead, and with some that just aren't super people or dog friendly. I'm also not phased by size or temperament as I've cared for a variety of breeds, ranging from Shih Tzu's, Labradors, Corgis, Bernese Moutain Dogs, Terriers... From working on a sheep farm I've also been around working Collie sheep dogs. I've administered medication to dogs before too (by syringing it into their food).

Cats: I've owned 6 myself so I'm very in tune with their needs and know when they want affection or some space. I've also cared for very nervous/shy cats (some which I’ve never actually seen!), and some with medical needs like FIV or digestion issues so have also administered medication either into their food or directly into their mouths with a syringe.

Other animals: I've also done 3 farm sits where I was responsible for horses, chickens, Highland cows, sheep, pigs, goats, ducks, guinea pigs and even a tortoise! I did the daily feeding and watering, checking up on them, cleaning & mucking out and sometimes leading the horses in and out of fields/stables and brushing them. I used to ride horses for about 5 years so am very comfortable around them. I also worked on a sheep farm for 3 weeks in Ireland during lambing season so have done a lot of sheep care, ranging from dosing them, to feeding, and even herding them!

I have plenty of reviews on my external Pawshake profile (where I did my previous petsitting), and more general reviews of my character on my Workaway profile. Just ask if you'd like the link :)

All in all, I'll love any animal and will make sure they feel as happy and comfortable as they can be. Being young I'm very happy to go and run about with your dogs and give them the exercise they need, especially as I love to walk/hike. I'm usually quite flexible so will be able to fully dedicate myself to your animals.

Reviews (3)
Ellie was brilliant - calm, confident and very good at communicating. We had some last-minute changes on departure dates and she accommodated these really well. She got on well with our pets and they were both very happy when we returned from our holiday. Thank you Ellie.
 
CLARE (Glasgow Scotland, Aug 2023 - 1 week 1 night)
Ellie did absolutely amazing with our cat Theo! He has quite a few special needs and health issues but she did great to manage them. She frequently kept in touch and sent photos to help ease our nerves while we were away. We were also happy to return to a very clean flat! 🙂
 
TAYLOR (Glasgow Scotland, Mar 2023 - 1 week 6 days)
Ellie and Fraser were excellent. We were pretty nervous, this being our first experience of house sitting, but Ellie and Fraser came to visit beforehand and we kept us well informed while we were away, which allowed us to relax. Our usually easy going dog was evidently also fairly nervous but they cared for him patiently and put him at ease with affection and long walks! We appreciated the photo updates and they were always quick to reply to any messages. When we arrived home, the veggie patch ... MORE
 
SUZANNE (Peebles Scotland, Jul 2022 - 3 weeks)
 
Garden Maintenance

Green garden!

Make sure the garden and pot plants are thriving when you get back - get a house sitter.

Feefo badge