House Sitters UK

The largest pet & house sitting site exclusively for the UK
 
 
Close

JOIN NOW to enable contact

OR LOGIN - CLICK HERE

 
Dates
  • 2 Mar 2019* - 10 Mar 2019 (*Approx)
  • 1 week 1 day
What we need
  • Dogs, Cats
House & Location
  • House
  • Internet, Wifi, Dishwasher
  • No
  • Coastal, Country, Bush/Forest, River/Lake (Nature, Quiet, Alternative)
  • Supermarket, Restaurants/Cafes, Beach, Fishing/Boating

We need a house sitter

Highlands and Islands - Highland

Monika

We are a family of 3 living on a woodland croft/smallholding in the Highlands. We have 2 dogs, English Shepherds Geo, who is 7 and Trix (2) and 3 cats - 19 paws in total (one cat has only 3 legs! :-) )

We are next looking for house sitters for just over a week in early March. We are ideally looking for a confident couple with proven experience in house & petsitting, for medium-size to large dogs in particular, as well as a willingness to look after an elderly cat who might need cleaning up after her.

We are not looking for somebody to exercise our dogs a lot (although living in an area of outstanding natural beauty with lots of outdoor opportunities you certainly can if you wish so) - they will be happy to have an easy week. Our main concern is to find somebody trustworthy who is 100% signed up to keeping them safe, and who are animal-lovers who are happy to give them love & affection freely & willingly, rather than seeing pet sitting as a chore.


Home & area:
Our loghouse is situated on a woodland croft (croft = a scottish term for a smallholding), in the North-West Highlands of Scotland, in an area called Assynt, 5 mins outside the village of Lochinver. Approximately 2 hours drive north of Inverness. Assynt features amazing white coral sand beaches (we are 5 mins from the famous Achmelvich Beach) as well as great mountains. A fantastic area to explore.

To enjoy the area you are ideally an adventurous spirit with a willingness to embrace the rural experience. Whilst not a farm our house is on croftland - wonderful to explore but no paths, no street lights! The same goes for the area. There are some more gentle paths but the willingness to explore 'off track' will greatly contribute to the experience.

In March the main tourism season has not started yet so there is a limited choice of cafes and restaurants, but you will have the beaches to yourself.

Our house and its surroundings are rustic - wooden floors rather than carpets and heather, and gorse rather than manicured lawns and flower beds.

The house has 3 bedrooms - 1 double, 1 double sofabed in the second bedroom/home office and 1 child bedroom with single bed. Broadband/Wifi (about 5-7mbps download speed). Smart TV with Freesat and Amazon Prime. Washingmachine/tumble dryer. Dishwasher. Microwave. Gashob/Electric oven.

We heat the house with a multi-fuel stove - as handling open fires in a wooden house is a more involved task and responsibility we are ideally looking for sitters who have experience with this type of heating.

Please note it is *essential* to have a car, to get here and to get around locally! We only have vehicle and are unable to leave it for sitters, so having your own or renting one if requited. We would also expect you to take the dogs in the car (and will provide sturdy covers for boot and back seats).

Pet responsibilities:
We are looking for somebody to walk the dogs, on and/or off the croft, feed cats & dogs and water the flowers on our veranda. Dogs will need to be walked on-lead off our property due to it being lambing season and the prevalence deer. Both are used to being walked with gentle-leader head collars which makes them easy to control, even on rougher terrain.

We would like sitters to keep in touch with us when we are away with emails/Facebook or WhatsApp, sending us updates and photos of photos and confirming their wellbeing.

Location Map

Location shown is indicative only

 
Get a Bigger View

See different

Care for someone else's pets, go for walks in a brand new place... Surprise yourself and expand your horizons.

Feefo badge